Florida Motor Vehicle Accidents
Unfortunately, because we have a multitude to be thankful for and enjoy, we’re also out on the road a lot. Being out on the highways and roads means that we run the risk of being involved in a motor vehicle accident. Suffice it to say that either you or someone you know has been touch by this tragedy. If you or a loved one have suffered as a result of a car accident I jury, you may be entitled to compensation under Florida laws.
Filing An Accident Report In Florida
First things first. Immediately following a car accident in the state of Florida, the first thing that you need to do is contact local law enforcement. Depending on the damage involved, law enforcement is obligated to file a report. Should law enforcement not need to file a report as part of the guidelines (injury, death damage over $500), you are required to go ahead and fill out an accident report on your own no more than 10 days from the date of the accident.
Your safety is of the utmost importance directly following a motor vehicle accident therefore, it is best to move away from dangerous traffic and roads and get over to a shoulder if possible. You are obligated by law to reach out to the other driver, their passengers and your own passengers to provide a reasonable level of assistance. In the event that they need medical care, you are also obligated to contact law enforcement and assist in any way possible.
You will then exchange information with the other driver such as your insurance card and contact information. It is also important to get the contact information for any witnesses at the scene. Taking photographs of the aftermath is also important and be sure never to convey that you are at fault or that you believe that you may have been the cause of the accident.
In a state of chaos, it is easy to assume that you are at fault however, you do not know what distractions outside of your own vehicle operation were involved and therefore, you cannot say with certainty that you were at fault. Did you stop short? Or was the other driver following too closely? These are questions and answers that are more complex than they appear immediately following an accident.
Car Insurance Claims In Florida
In the state of Florida filing a claim can be complicated so, it is important to understand your rights and obligations. A Florida personal injury attorney can assist you and guide you through the process. Florida’s no-fault system indicates that each individual driver is held responsible for their own accident-related medical expenses. As for the damage to your vehicles, this responsibility is where what is called “at-fault” insurance comes into focus. At-fault insurance is means the claim for property damage is filed against the other driver.
All claims have a deadline that must be met and therefore, once you are in the confines of your home after receiving proper medical care and guidance from your physician, you should begin the process of reporting the accident to your insurance carrier as well as seeking out professional personal injury claims legal advice.day.
Get The Help That You Need
It is important that you understand your rights as you may be entitled to compensation and while that may be the last thought that comes to mind after an injury, compensation may cover medical bills as well as lost wages. Get compassionate legal help today.